About the Board of Health

The Board of Health (the Board) consists of five members, who are appointed by the District Advisory Council for a five-year term. Board member appointments are made with regard to equal representation of all parts of the Health District. The District Advisory Council may consider the applicant’s place of residence and employment. Board members may not hold an elected office, should be knowledgeable in the field of health and at least one member shall be a physician. Each March a Board Member term expires and interested parties are able to run for the open position. For additional information on the process contact Mitzi Kline at (614) 525-3028.The Board meets at least once a month and may hold as many special meetings as it deems necessary. The Board typically meets on the second Tuesday of each month at Memorial Hall, 280 East Broad Street. All meetings are open to the public and begin promptly at 8:00 am.  If a Board Finance Committee Meeting is scheduled that will be at 8:00 am and the Board Meeting will begin at 9:00 am.  ** Due to COVID-19, the Board currently meets virtually on Zoom. For connection information please see the Columbus Dispatch Legal Notice section or contact Debra Smith at debra.smith@franklincountyohio.gov or (614) 525-3670. **


Public Participation Request Form

Board Meetings


Jan 12 - Agenda | Minutes

Feb 9 - Agenda | Minutes

March 9 - Agenda | Minutes

April 13 - Agenda | Minutes

May 11 - Agenda | Minutes

June 8 - Agenda | Minutes

2021 (continued)

July 13 - Agenda | Minutes

Aug 10 - Agenda | Minutes

Sept 14 - Agenda | Minutes

Oct 12 - Agenda | Minutes

Nov 9 - Agenda | Minutes

Dec 14 - Agenda | Minutes

Board Members

Sally Morgan, MS, RN, AGPCNP-BC, ACNS-BC resides in Columbus and is a nurse practitioner at The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center. She received her Master of Science degree and postgraduate degree from The Ohio State University College of Nursing. Sally is the immediate past president of the Ohio Nurses Association. She was appointed in March 2018. Term expires 2023.

Roy Barnewall, DVM, PhD, resides in Perry Township and is Manager of Inhalation Technology at Battelle Life Sciences Research. He obtained his Doctor of Veterinary Medicine and his PhD in Microbiology and Immunology from The Ohio State University. He was appointed in September 2017 to fill a vacated term. Term expires in 2025.

Latisha Chastang, MNML, resides in Columbus and is the Director of Emergency Assistance at IMPACT Community Action. She obtained a Master’s of Science degree in Nonprofit Management and Leadership from Capella University. She was appointed in March 2019. Term expires in 2024.

Thomas Rudge, Jr., Ph.D. received his doctorate in Molecular Genetics from The Ohio State University in 2000. He works at the Battelle Biomedical Research Center and resides in Blendon Township. He was appointed to the Board of Health in 2017. Term expires in 2022.

Arthur R. James, MD, FACOG, resides in Bexley and is a board-certified Obstetrician/Gynecologist who is also a fully train Pediatrician currently employed at The Ohio State University as an Associate Professor in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology and at Nationwide Children’s Hospital. He also serves as the Interim Executive Director of the Ohio State University’s Institute for the Study of Race and Ethnicity. He was the founding Medical Director of the Nationwide Children’s Hospital Teen and Pregnant Program and has served as the co-lead for Ohio Better Birth Outcomes and as a consultant for the Franklin County Infant Mortality Task Force, now known as CelebrateOne. He was appointed in September 2017 to fill a vacated term. Term expires in 2026.